Raj Aneja, MD

Professor, Pediatrics and Critical Care Medicine

Contact Information


Administrative Contact:
Phyllis Starz

Education & Training

MD, Pediatrics, Christian Medical College, 1993
Residency, Pediatrics, Winthrop - University Hospital, 1998
Fellowship, Pediatric Critical Care, Children’s Hospital of Buffalo, 2002
Research Fellowship, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital, 2004

Research, Clinical & Academic Interests

  • Sepsis-induced brain injury
  • Understanding the role of the microbiome in the innate immune response
  • ICU Quality improvement

Walko III TD, Di Caro V, Piganelli J, Billiar TR, Clark RS, Aneja RK. Poly (ADP - Ribose) Polymerase 1 – Sirtuin 1 Functional Interplay Regulates LPS - Mediated High Mobility Group Box 1 Secretion. Molecular Medicine. 2014;20(1):612.

Morowitz MJ, Di VC, Pang D, Cummings J, Firek B, Rogers MB, Ranganathan S, Clark RS, Aneja RK. Dietary Supplementation With Nonfermenta ble Fiber Alters the Gut Microbiota and Confers Protection in Murine Models of Sepsis. Critical care medicine. 2017 May;45(5):e516 - 23.

Davis AL, Carcillo JA, Aneja RK, Deymann AJ, Lin JC, Nguyen TC, Okhuysen - Cawley RS, Relvas MS, Rozenfeld RA, Skippen PW, Stojadinovic BJ. The 2014 American College of Critical Care Medicine Clinical Practice Guidelines for Hemodynamic Support of Pediatric and Neonatal Septic Shock Executive Summary. Pediatric Critical Care Medicine. 2017 Jul 18.

Aneja R, Odoms K, Dunsmore K, Shanley TP, Wong HR. Extracellular heat shock protein - 70 induces endotoxin tolerance in THP - 1 cells. The Journal of Immunology. 2006 Nov 15;177(10):7184 - 92.

► Full listing on Pub Med

Clinical Chief, Division of Pediatric Critical Care Medicine, UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
Medical Director, Pediatric Intensive Care Unit, UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh
Associate Director, Safar Center for Resuscitation Research, UPMC Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh

Pittsburgh Magazine's list of the "Best Doctors in Pittsburgh," 2017 - 2020
Fellow, American College of Critical Care Medicine, 2017
Society of Critical Care Medicine Presidential Citation, 2009 - 2016
Society of Critical Care Medicine research award, 2004 - 2005, 2010, 2014