SCCM Turns 50

In a fitting tribute to its founding ties to the University of Pittsburgh, the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) selected Lillian Liang Emlet, MD, MS to co-chair the 50th Anniversary Congress. She was one of three co-chairs to plan and facilitate the virtual international event—held for the first time over two weeks—during January 31-February 12, 2021. Jose Diaz-Gomez, MD from Baylor University and Beth Taylor, DCN, RD-AP from Barnes-Jewish Hospital were also co-chairs.

“The 50th anniversary was celebrated with nine Luminary Lounges where we invited past presidents to moderate live Q&A sessions with program committee members,” said Dr. Emlet, who is clinical associate professor of Critical Care Medicine and associate program director for the Internal Medicine-Critical Care fellowship program for the Multidisciplinary Critical Care Training Program. “Our own Dr. Ann Thompson was one of the wonderful past presidents sharing her perspective on the growth of critical care and fond memories of her time leading the Society.”

Dr. Emlet added that it’s not too late for SCCM members to add to the yearlong celebration. SCCM welcomes short videos and photos from members who wish to Share Their Story of the Society’s first 50 years. Check out the MCCTP 50th anniversary video.

In acknowledging the impact of the global pandemic, the ‘Member to Member’ and ‘Global COVID Perspectives’ sessions were added to the program this year. The ‘Member to Member’ session was designed to share non-clinical aspects of professional growth, wellness, and resilience faced by members during the pandemic. The diverse topics ranged from yoga to setting up a home office for remote tele-work. Pitt contributors included first-year fellows Tim Montrief, MD, MPH and Mark Ramzy, DO along with faculty members Emily Brant, MD and Christopher Schott, MD, MS.

“Diversity and inclusion were featured during multiple sessions throughout Congress, however, we are especially proud of the session with our own Drs. Varun Shetty and Natalia Arizmendez on Critical Care Health Disparities: Beginning Conversations for Equity,” said Dr. Emlet.


Recognition of CCM Achievements

Ericka Fink, MD, MS was inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine during the Convocation ceremony.

Patrick Kochanek, MD received the Distinguished Service Award for exceptional leadership contributions that have furthered the vision and mission of SCCM over a period of time.

Christopher Schott, MD, MS was awarded an Emergency Medicine Section Congress Scholarship.

Presidential Citation Awards were given to Gilles Clermont, MD, MSc; Lillian Emlet, MD, MS, FCCM; Jane Guttendorf, RN, CCRN, ACNP-BC, CRNP, DNP; Jeremy Kahn, MD, MS; Jason Moore, MD, MS; and Christopher Schott, MD, MS.

Patrick Kochanek, MD received an Abstract-based Bronze Medal Award and a STAR Research Award, while Matthew Leach, MD received a STAR Research Award. Silver Snapshot Awards went to *Alicia Au, MD, MS; *Bob Clark, MD; *Dana Fuhrman, DO, MS; *Chris Horvat, MD, MHA; *Jonathan Pelletier, MD and Jaskaran Rakkar, MD (* 2 awards).

Two of our alumni have joined the leadership team of the SCCM Section of Emergency Medicine: Torben Becker, MD at University of Florida and Michael Buscher, MD at Yale-Bridgeport Hospital.

Additional free content about the Society’s 50th anniversary can be found on SCCM’s YouTube channel.