Skip to Content

ProCESS Paper Receives Clinical Research Achievement Award from National Advocacy Group

Mon, 04/20/2015

On April 16, Derek Angus was a recipient of a Top 10 Clinical Research Achievement Award from the Clinical Research Forum. Angus, MD, MPH, FRCP, the Chair of the Department of Critical Care Medicine, received the award in Washington, D.C. at the Forum’s fourth annual awards ceremony.

The ten papers “were chosen based on their degree of innovation from a pool of more than 50 nominations from 30 research and academic health centers nationwide,” a UPMC press release  explained. The Forum is an advocacy organization for the field of clinical research, and is committed to the idea that “the better our clinical research, the greater our ability to diagnose, treat and prevent illness,” according to Herbert Pardes, Co-Chairman of the Clinical Research Forum Board of Directors.

Angus was nominated for his role as lead author of the ProCESS Investigators’ paper, “A Randomized Trial of Protocol-Based Care for Early Septic Shock,” published in the New England Journal of Medicine on May 1, 2014. John Kellum, Tenured Professor of Critical Care Medicine, David Huang, Associate Professor of Critical Care Medicine, and Francis Pike, Assistant Professor of Critical Care Medicine, were co-authors on the paper. Other co-authors from Pitt include Donald Yealy, Professor of Emergency Medicine, and Amber Barnato, Associate Professor of Medicine.

NIH Director Francis Collins, MD, PhD, congratulated the researchers “for their groundbreaking clinical research that will advance new treatments to reduce suffering and bring hope to millions of people,” according to the press release. “And I’m especially proud that NIH funding makes these advances possible,” Collins added.

Angus’ submission contained a summary video of the project, which can be viewed below.

A full-page ad listing the award winners was published in The Washington Post on Monday, April 20.