Skip to Content

CCM at SCCM 2016

Fri, 02/19/2016

Photo credit: Miosotis Jade

Faculty, fellows, and trainees from the Department of Critical Care Medicine will have a busy next few days as a part of the 45th Society of Critical Care Medicine Annual Congress in Orlando, Florida. From February 20 to 24, they will deliver plenary lectures, receive multiple awards, deliver research presentations, and take part in high-level panel discussions.

John Kellum is one of the Congress’s Co-Chairs. Derek Angus is the Congress’s first plenary lecturer, and will give a presentation on “Fusing Clinical Care with Clinical Research: The Future of the Randomized Control Trial in a Self-Learning Healthcare System.” This plenary lecture is on Sunday at 8 a.m.

Other faculty giving presentations, moderating sessions, and participating in town halls during the Congress are Marie Baldisseri, Michael Bell, David Crippen, David Huang, Jeremy Kahn, Patrick Kochanek, Raghavan Murugan, Michael Pinsky, Christopher Seymour, and Lori Shutter.

Of note is the joint SCCM/ESICM session, “Sepsis Redefined,” on Monday, Feb. 22, at 3:15 p.m. Several JAMA and Critical Care Medicine articles will be released simultaneously with the session, during which Christopher Seymour and co-authors will present new sepsis definitions.

Two faculty members were accepted for Fellowship in the American College of Critical Care Medicine (ACCM). Raghavan Murugan and Sherry Chou will be awarded the title of “FCCM” at the ACCM Convocation on Monday, Feb. 22, at 6 p.m. Chou was also awarded the Neuroscience Section Travel Grant. In addition, Lillian Emlet was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the SCCM Section of Emergency Medicine. One of our MCCTP alumni, James Dargin, is serving as an at large member of the EM Section.

Safar Center trainees and early-career investigators are being awarded both the In-Training and Young Investigator Abstract-Based Awards. University of Pittsburgh Medical Student Catherine Byrd will receive the In-Training award for her scholarly project with Patrick Kochanek on the novel resuscitation fluid PNPH in TBI plus hemorrhagic shock. K-awardee Nahmah Kim Campbell will receive the Young Investigator award for her work, mentored by Hülya Bayır and Mark Gladwin, testing nitrite therapy targeting AKI from hemolysis in rats on miniaturized ECMO. 

Two other Safar Center trainees, Emin Fidan and Jessica Wallisch, will also receive Star Research Achievement Awards for high scoring abstracts. Ina Fiterau, a PhD Student in Machine Learning at Carnegie Mellon University and a co-investigator with CRISMA investigators Gilles Clermont, Marilyn Hravnak, and Michael Pinsky, is also receiving a Star Award, as is Pediatric Fellow Elizabeth Meinert. The Abstract-Based Awards Ceremony will be held on Sunday, Feb. 21 at 1 p.m.

Research Snapshot Presentation of accepted abstracts will be given by other CCM researchers including CRISMA faculty members Gilles Clermont, Sherry Chou, Raghavan Murugan, and Dana Fuhrman; Eliezer Bose and Marilyn Hravnak, both School of Nursing faculty and co-investigators on the Predicting Patient Instability Noninvasively for Nursing Care (PPINNC) project; Ericka Mochan-Keef, Li Ang Zhang, and Li Zhu, all collaborators in the Systems Medicine Program (CRISMA); Petros Kopterides, research fellow in the Clinical Epidemiology Program (CRISMA); and MCCTP alumnus Mohammed Al-Jaghbeer.

To keep up with all of the events during the SCCM Congress, be sure to follow @CCMPitt on Twitter, and participate in the conversation by using #CCC45

Photo credit: Miosotis Jade