Skip to Content

46th Annual Critical Care Congress Recap

Mon, 02/06/2017

Held in late January at the beautiful Hawaii Convention Center in Honolulu, the 46th Annual Critical Care Congress, sponsored by the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), was packed with world-renowned speakers, interactive workshops, panel discussions, and education sessions.  With more than 50 presenters in attendence, the University of Pittsburgh was a formidable presence.

Representatives from Pitt's Department of Critical Care Medicine presented abstracts, and received grants and awards, among other honors.  

Marie R. Balidsseri, Chancellor of the American College of Critical Care Medicine, gave the Congress' welcome and introduction of the Dais Party.  Dr. Baldisseri - along with Janice L. Zimmerman from Weill Cornell Medical College - was also presented the Safar Global Partner Award, recognizing an individual, hospital, or organization that expands the global reach of SCCM.

Daniel R. Kievlan was awarded an Emergency Medicine Section Travel Grant, sponsored by the Emergency Midicine Section of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, for his presentation on the Serial Evaluation of qSOFA Among Patients with Suspected Infection.

The Presidential Citation Award, sponsored by SCCM and recognizing members who have made extraordinary contributions of time, energy, and resources to SCCM during the previous year, was awarded to former CCM Fellow Jan Kasal.

The Laerdal Foundation for Acute Medicine-sponsored Asmud S. Laerdal Memorial Lecture Award, commemorating Asmund S. Laerdal, creator of the Rususci Anne model used in cardiopulmonary resuscutation training procedures, and recognizing an individual for his/her extensive involvement in resuscitation research and publishing, was awarded to Michael R. Pinsky.

The Star Research Award, an abstract-based award sponsored by SCCM, went to the team of Marilyn Hravnak, Lujie Chen, Artur Dubrawski, Gilles Clermont, and Michael Pinsky for their work, Machine Learning Can Pre-Identify Instability Risk for a Medical Emergency Team Call.

And Patrick M. Kochanek was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by SCCM, and honoring an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime of meritorious contributions to the field of critical care through the advancement of medical science, medical education, or medical care.

In addition, the following physicians were named 2017 Fellows of the American College of Critical Care Medicine (FCCM): Ali H. Al-Khafaji, Rajesh K. Aneja, Sherry H. Chou, and Robert S.B. Clark.

The 47th Annual Critical Care Congress is slated for early 2018 in San Antonio, Texas.